How symbols shape our ideals of love

5 reasons I do not celebrate Valentine’s Day

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C
8 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

“‘Tis better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.” — Alfred Lord Tennyson.

Today, Valentine’s Day is celebrated in various countries around the world, though the customs and traditions can vary. It has become a significant cultural and commercial celebration of romance and love, with billions of dollars spent annually on cards, flowers, chocolates, and gifts. From its origins as a pagan fertility festival to its transformation into a day celebrating romantic love, Valentine’s Day has come a long way. Its evolution reflects changes in social and cultural attitudes toward love, marriage, and affection, making it one of the most enduring and widely recognized holidays worldwide. But like me, I know many who purposefully do not celebrate or acknowledge this candy filled day.

Before I share my 5 reasons why I do not celebrate here is a brief history of the holiday that, today, can be the source of stress and anxiety for so many.

Valentine’s Day, celebrated annually on February 14th, is a holiday associated with love and romance, marked by the exchange of cards, flowers, chocolates, and other expressions of affection. The origins of Valentine’s Day are a…

--

--

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C

A Tech Humanist, I write about society, culture, technology, education, & AI. Additionally, I am a villager and live in a small city in Canada.