9 warning signs you’re dealing with a toxic leader

How bad leadership sinks profits & ruin employees mental health

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C
12 min readJan 19, 2024

--

“Leadership is not about being in charge. It is about taking care of those in your charge.” — Simon Sinek.

Many of my post are informed by my immediate circle of friends who are gleefully aware that many of their own personal woes about toxic leadership find voice through my writing on this platform. You can say it is my therapy, as well as theirs. In our ever-growing shared vault of bad work stories, we lament the often-transactional nature of work in North American culture (many of my closest friends as immigrants from Eastern Europe, Africa, and Asia) an bring nuanced cultural colour to our chats. Together, we have shared many nightmare stories of toxic leaders and exhaustion surrounding the North American ideals of “networking,” and overt nepotism, as a symptom of this transactional nature of corporate life.

Personally, my own contribution to this vault of shared stories is about inept, uninspired leadership, a phenomenon that seems in vogue these days. So many of us lack motivation and inspiration and much…

--

--

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C

A Tech Humanist, I write about society, culture, technology, education, & AI. Additionally, I am a villager and live in a small city in Canada.