5 strategies to overcome toxic leadership in the workplace

Thriving & surviving: How to overcome toxic leadership

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C
10 min readJan 6, 2024

--

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.” — Steve Jobs

A few months ago, my 16-year-old son came home with a 47% in Math; yes a 47%, I was livid. Not so much about the grade itself but because of the excuse he gave to justify this low grade. This is considering that just a year prior he earned an A in Math, a subject he once loved.

His excuses were:

“the teacher sucked” and “everyone did poorly.”

As a Caribbean born mom, I had one response for him: I said:

“Child, go and come back again, correctly.”

--

--

Kem-Laurin Lubin, Ph.D-C

A Tech Humanist, I write about society, culture, technology, education, & AI. Additionally, I am a villager and live in a small city in Canada.